A Gift of Absence

Absence can indeed cause the heart to grow fonder. Or at least to realize the strength of your love.

My sister called this morning with news about my neice and her family. Talking to her reminded me how much I miss them, and how eager I am to go to Ohio in late May for my great-nephew’s high school graduation.

In the past few days I have had occasion to see a few friends from church. What a joy! But the joy is tinged with sadness, too, because I am reminded of how much I miss these people I love.

A sabbatical is a break, a time to let go of daily issues and concerns, and focus on important things that often get neglected in the press of regular business. I am doing that, and am grateful for the opportunity to renew and be renewed. I am growing as a person and as a pastor.

I am only about halfway through this special time, and I am eager for what is still to come–including several trainings with colleagues and seeing family in Chicago and Ohio.

But I also will be glad, indeed overjoyed, to see my entire church family when it ends.